Archive for the ‘RCA news’ Category

Can you identify?

Thursday, September 4th, 2008

Who are the men in this photo from RCA’s first banquet?

RCA 1919 banquet closeup

Here’s a rare photograph. I don’t believe this picture has been seen by RCA members for more than 50 years. I’d like to have your help to identify the individuals shown here. The picture was taken at the Radio Club of America’s banquet given in honor of Maj. Edwin Howard Armstrong in 1919. That banquet was RCA’s first, and the Club did not conduct another banquet until 1926.

Don Pfohl, W7LPA, receives award from Oregon State Police

Wednesday, February 6th, 2008

First recipient of ‘Charles P. Pray Award’

Don Pfohl, W7LPA.

RCA Fellow Don Pfohl, W7LPA, received an award from the Oregon State Police on Feb. 5, 2008. Don has worked for OSP for more than five years and has worked on radio systems for OSP, ODOT, Department of Forestry, and Department of Corrections. Additionally, he has provided public safety communications leadership and technical expertise for the cities of San Francisco, California and Mesa, Arizona. He also serves on a national committee that is developing communication system standards.

Oregon State Police Superintendent Timothy McLain presented the first “Charles P. Pray Award” to Don, who is the technical project manager for the Oregon Wireless Interoperability Network (OWIN). The OWIN project is the Oregon’s initiative to consolidate four state agency public safety radio systems and enable interoperable voice communication with other public safety agencies across the state. The new OSP award recognizes department employees whose body of work or career accomplishments have a significant effect on the department and establishes positive state, national or international recognition.

RCA scholarship applications invited

Wednesday, December 26th, 2007

Applications are due by May 1, 2008

RCA Scholarship Fund..

The Foundation for Amateur Radio has begun accepting applications for scholarships for the 2008-2009 academic year. Of the Radio Club of America’s 12 scholarship money grants for the year, FAR administers and selects the recipients for three of them. The FAR-administered scholarships are the only RCA grants available to students regardless of location. The remainder of RCA’s scholarships are connected with specific colleges and universities where only students matriculated there are eligible.

‘World War II Radio Heroes’

Wednesday, December 26th, 2007

Letters of Compassion


You might enjoy this story from the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review. It has a connection with RCA that I’ll explain at the end.

Radio Club of America names Andy Rooney as honorary member

Tuesday, December 18th, 2007

TV essayist gave keynote speech at RCA’s 2007 banquet

Andy Rooney of the CBS News program .

By a vote of the board of directors on Nov. 16, 2007, Andy Rooney was named an honorary member of the Radio Club of America. That evening, Andy delivered the keynote speech at the Club’s annual banquet. Andy is best known for essays that he presents on the CBS News program “60 Minutes,” where he has worked for the past 30 years. RCA by-laws state that “an honorary member shall be a person of high professional standing who is interested in the activities of the Club.”

RCA members choose officers, directors for 2008

Monday, November 26th, 2007

Six new directors join board; two incumbents reelected

New RCA directors.

Five candidates nominated by petitions submitted by members were elected to RCA’s board of directors in election results announced on Nov. 16, 2007. A sixth new director was elected by the board to fill a vacancy that will occur when an incumbent will leave the board of directors to become the Club secretary at the beginning of the new year. A vote of the members elected Jack Belrose, Ph.D.; VE2CV; Carole Perry Parker, WB2MGP; Bob Walsh, esq., WA8MOA; Ron Jakubowski, K2RJ; and myself to two-year terms. The board elected Andy Singer, WK2F, to serve a one-year term, replacing incumbent director Ray Minichiello, P.E., W1BC, who was elected as secretary.

RCA exhibits at PCIA Wireless Infrastructure Show

Saturday, October 27th, 2007

Club offers info to 1500 convention-goers

V.G. Duvall and Tom Thornton.

V.G. Duvall of Montgomery, Texas and Tom Thornton of San Angelo, Texas greeted visitors to the RCA exhibit at the PCIA Wireless Infrastructure show in Orlando, Florida on October 2 and 3. The exhibit provided visitors an opportunity to see RCA’s publications, new and old, and to receive a membership leaflet. At least three filled out membership application forms on the spot, and a dozen more took forms with them for possible later use. Tom said that Bruce McIntyre and Mercy Contreras also helped to staff the booth. “The exhibit hours were short; we didn’t need a lot of people,” he said.

Thank-you to V.G. and Tom for handling this responsibility on behalf of the Club, and to PCIA for making the exhibit space available. That’s V.G. on the left.

RCA names Louis J. Meyer, P.E., for Alfred H. Grebe Memorial Award

Wednesday, October 10th, 2007

Andrew executive receives manufacturing excellence award

Alfred H. Grebe Memorial Award

Louis J. Meyer, P.E. Louis J. Meyer, P.E.

The recipient of RCA’s Alfred H. Grebe Memorial Award is Louis J. Meyer, P.E., of Shady Shores, Texas. The award is given for achievements in outstanding quality in the design and manufacture of electronic components and equipment. Born in Sterling, Illinois, Lou is a graduate of Marquette University with a BSEE. He worked for several companies in the Midwest and Northeast before settling in Texas for a long career with Decibel Products and its successor company, Andrew Corporation. Lou joined RCA in 1992 and became a Fellow in 1994.

RCA names 13 Club members as new Fellows in ‘class of 2007’

Wednesday, September 26th, 2007

The first six in alphabetical order

Bill Baker, W1BKR; Fred Baumgartner; KG0KI; Sandra Black; and Russell Fox, esq.

At the Nov. 16, 2007 banquet, the Radio Club of America will elevate the status of 13 individuals to the membership status of Fellow. Here are some details about six of them. Congratulations to the new Fellows, class of 2007.


RCA names 13 members as new Fellows in ‘class of 2007’

Wednesday, September 26th, 2007

The remaining seven in alphabetical order

James W. Hart, P.E., W0NFD; George W. Hoeltje, P.E., K9GWH; Morgan E. O'Brien; Donald W. Pfohl, W7LPA; William F. Roselle Jr., W7SFE; Elizabeth R. Sachs, esq.; and Joseph J. Schroeder Jr., W9JUV.

At the Nov. 16, 2007 banquet, the Radio Club of America will elevate the status of 13 individuals to the membership status of Fellow. Here are some details about seven of them. Congratulations to the new Fellows, class of 2007.