Archive for the ‘RCA news’ Category

Dennis Bodson, W4PWF, to receive RCA’s Sarnoff Citation

Sunday, September 23rd, 2007

Former NCS chief is active ARRL, IEEE volunteer

RCA Sarnoff Citation for 2007 goes to Dennis Bodson, Ph.D., P.E., W4PWF

Dennis Bodson, W4PWF Dennis Bodson, W4PWF

The Radio Club of America has named Dennis Bodson, Ph.D., P.E., W4PWF, of Arlington, Virginia, as the recipient of the Sarnoff Citation. The award is given to recognize significant contributions to the advancement of electronic communications. “I was shocked when I heard that I would receive the Sarnoff Citation,” Dennis told me, adding, “I find it difficult to believe that I’ll be on the dais with Walter Cronkite, KB2GSD.”


Walter Cronkite, KB2GSD, named honorary member of Radio Club

Saturday, September 8th, 2007

CBS newsman becomes RCA’s 26th honorary member

Walter Cronkite, KB2GSD, in a 2003 ARRL video,

The Radio Club of America has conferred honorary membership upon Walter Cronkite, KB2GSD. Cronkite is best known as the anchor of the “CBS Evening News” program from 1962 to 1981 and as America’s eyewitness to history.

In its 98-year history, RCA has given only 26 honorary memberships. The other living honorary member is June Poppele. Her father, Jack R. Poppele, was one of two engineers who, in 1922, started what now is New York’s WOR AM radio station. (more…)

Harlin R. McEwen speaks at RCA breakfast meeting in Baltimore

Monday, August 13th, 2007

RCA member heads Public Safety Spectrum Trust

RCA breakfast meeting at APCO 2007.

Harlin McEwen (right) speaks at the Hyatt Regency Inner Harbor in Baltimore as Stan Reubenstein, WA6RNU, looks on.

About 125 members and guests attended an RCA breakfast meeting at the Hyatt Regency Inner Harbor in Baltimore on Aug. 8, 2007. The meeting was scheduled during the four-day national conference of the Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials. Harlin R. McEwen, a Fellow of the Radio Club, delivered a speech about the efforts made by the public safety community to shape the use of 24 MHz of spectrum allocated for public safety use in the 700 MHz band. He explained how the community responded to somewhat unexpected requirements the FCC proposed for that spectrum.

Leslie A. Geddes, Ph.D., receives National Medal of Technology

Monday, August 13th, 2007

President Bush lauds Purdue University professor emeritus

Leslie A. Geddes, Ph.D., receives National Medal of Technology.

Leslie A. Geddes, Ph.D., D.Sc., received the National Medal of Technology from President George W. Bush in a ceremony at the White House on July 27, 2007. A member of RCA since 1993, Geddes is a professor emeritus at Purdue University. Geddes was selected for the nation’s highest award for technological innovations “for his contributions to electrode design and tissue restoration, research that has led to new diagnostic and therapeutic methods. Burn victims heal with fewer scars. Miniature cuffs can be slipped over the pinky-size limbs of premature infants to monitor their health. Heart patients can exercise with pacemakers that automatically increase a person’s heart rate,” a story at reads.

Dan Friedrichs, K0IPG, receives RCA scholarship

Saturday, July 21st, 2007

Senior at South Dakota State University studies electrical engineering

Dan Friedrichs, K0IPG
Dan Friedrichs, K0IPG

This is the third year in a row that Daniel A. Friedrichs, K0IPG, of Le Mars, Iowa, and Brookings, South Dakota, has been selected by the Foundation for Amateur Radio (FAR) to receive scholarship money. FAR named him to receive $1,000 from RCA for the 2007-2008 academic year.

“I am very grateful to be receiving this scholarship. Being associated with the long history and great legacy of the Radio Club of America is quite the honor,” Dan told me when I got in touch with him.

Radio Club of America exhibits at Dayton Hamvention 2007

Wednesday, June 6th, 2007

Members speak at several convention forums

Steve Meer, K0SCC; and Stan Reubenstein, WA6RNU, at the Radio Club of America booth at the Dayton Hamvention in May 2007..

RCA’s exhibit at the Dayton Hamvention sported a classy white-on-black table cover — or sepulchral, maybe, with the gothic lettering and black skirt. It looks classy to me. And easily adaptable for Halloween with a splash of orange. Thanks go to Stan Reubenstein, WA6RNU. He had the new cover made, and he donated it to the Club. Stan, RCA’s executive vice president, said he ordered the new cover for RCA at the same time he was having one made for his manufacturers representative firm, Aurora Marketing Company. (more…)

Two RCA members enter ‘Wireless Hall of Fame’

Monday, May 28th, 2007

Jay Kitchen, Arlene Harris are inducted

Jay Kitchen and Arlene Harris.

Two members of the Radio Club of America have been inducted into the Wireless Hall of Fame, a joint effort of RCR Wireless News, CTIA and the Industrial Telecommunications Association.

Arlene Harris, co-founder and CEO of GreatCall, and Jay Kitchen, best known for his time as president of the Personal Communications Industry Association (PCIA) and the National Association of Business and Educational Radio (NABER), were named as the two inductees for 2007.

Arlene joined RCA in 1982 and became a Fellow in 1987. Jay joined RCA in 1971 and became a Fellow in 1979. He also serves on RCA’s board of directors.

Maurice Zouary plans new book about Lee de Forest, Ph.D.

Sunday, May 20th, 2007

Book to emphasize de Forest’s invention of sound-on-film

Maurice H. Zouary

He probably is the last surviving member of the DeForest Pioneers, Maurice Zouary is. In the 1950s, two organizations sprang up within a year of one another to memorialize and perpetuate the names of two inventors of electronics technology that shaped the world of radio, today also known as wireless communications — and including radio and television broadcasting. First, admirers of Lee de Forest, Ph.D., started the DeForest Pioneers, and soon thereafter, admirers of Maj. Edwin H. Armstrong formed the Armstrong Memorial Research Foundation. (more…)

Frisbie Museum

Tuesday, May 15th, 2007

Frisbie Museum.

Thank-you to RCA for distributing my story about the Frisbie Museum in its May 14 e-newsletter. The story was long in the making, with the effort to gather and prepare the information and photographs stretching out for more than a year. Thank-you also to RCA members (all Fellows, actually) Ronald E. Frisbie; Max de Henseler, Ph.D., HB9RS; and Alfred H. Grebe Jr. for helping with the story. Now that RCA distributed it, I placed a copy on a web page devoted to the Frisbie Museum where you can see it if you like.

Steve Proctor set to receive APCO leadership award

Wednesday, April 11th, 2007

Steven H. Proctor Steven H. Proctor

An RCA member since 1992 and Fellow since 1995, Steven H. Proctor has been named to receive the Leadership in Advocacy Award at the APCO International Third Annual Public Safety Communications Leadership in Policy Awards Dinner at the Park Hyatt in Washington on April 19. Steve is the executive director of the Utah Communications Agency Network (UCAN). (more…)